From: Thomas Palmer Area: MagickNet To: Mark O. Garrison 10 Aug 93 09:18:00 Subject: Re: THAT tome UpdReq -=> Quoting Mark O. Garrison to Kayla Block <=- MOG> DO WHAT THOU WILT SHALL BE THE WHOLE OF THE LAW MOG> In a message dated 06 Aug 93 23:46:20, Kayla Block wrote: KB> if you don't mind me asking, how have you managed to get KB> access to old masonic libraries? P> a) be a Mason KB> i'm female---i don't think they'd let me....\ MOG> Kayla, I thought that the U.S. Supreme Court decided back in, I MOG> think it was 89, that to not admit women into a Masonic Order was MOG> sexual discrimination. They ruled that a Masonic group, in the United MOG> States, by law, had to admit women (and the women auxiliary, the MOG> Eastern Star, does not count! ), they could not seperate genders MOG> into two distinct groups and deny membership from one or the other MOG> based solely upon gender. Ahem, I am Senior Warden of a Lodge in Denver, CO. (For non-masons, that means I have been a lodge officer for 6 years, will be Master of the Lodge next year and am required to know the Book of Constitutions of the Grand Lodge of Colorado's guidelines on nearly everything.) The Ancient, Free, and Accepted Masons, or any other Masonic group for that matter, is NOT required by law to admit women. Masonry is classed as a fraternal organization, and fraternal organizations can descriminate legally in some instances based on gender, race, hair color, height, disability or lack thereof, National origin, etc. To do this they must meet strict definitions imposed by law and recieve absolutely no public funds for their activities. The Masonic Lodge is funded by the Membership directly. To my knowledge, Masonry (or any other fraternal order, for that matter) has yet to be challenged by any legal authority for discriminatory practices. As an aside, Masonry has large amount of money dedicated to benevolent and educational purposes which is tax exempt. If the IRS could get to it with discrimination laws,